This revised edition of the Texas Child Protection Law Bench Book (Bench Book) includes additions of and revisions to important topics such as Normalcy and Service.

This project is supported by the Court Improvement Program grants, awarded by the United States Department of Health and Human Services Administration for Children and Families. The information in this publication has been developed by the Bench Book Advisory Committee and the staff of the Supreme Court of Texas Permanent Judicial Commission for Children, Youth and Families (Children's Commission). Any resource materials or other written contributions provided by the Children's Commission should not be read as an advisory issued by the Supreme Court of Texas or any other court. Contributions to this Bench Book are not rulings on specific cases or legal issues, but are solely intended to address the improvement of the law, the legal system, and the administration of justice related to child protection cases.

Children's Commission Staff:

Tina Amberboy, former Executive Director

Jessica Arguijo, Communications Manager

Jamie Bernstein, Executive Director

Renée Castillo-De La Cruz, Staff Attorney

Aimee Corbin, Staff Attorney

Jocelyn Fowler, Staff Attorney

Tiffany Edwards, Executive Assistant

Monica Mahoney, Program Specialist

Chelsea Martinez, Executive Assistant

Dylan Moench, Director of Legal Representation

Patrick Passmore, Grant Administrator

Milbrey Raney, Assistant Director

Andrea Vicencio, Program Specialist

The Honorable Dean Rucker (ret.), Jurist in Residence

The Honorable Robert Hofmann, Jurist in Residence