A. Background

DFPS has agreements with the Mexican Consular Offices to help carry out DFPS' obligations under the Consular Convention between the United States of American and the United Mexican States signed at Mexico City on August 12, 1942, and the Vienna Convention on Consular Relations, signed in Vienna on April 24, 1963.

There are 11 Consular Offices throughout the state. Please see the Mexican Consulates in Texas Jurisdiction Map and the Texas Practice Guide for Child Protective Services Attorneys Consulates of Mexico in Texas for a directory of offices and contacts.[287]